USA Women’s Olympic Soccer Team to Compete In 2016 Qualifying Tourney Feb. 10-15 at Toyota Stadium

The United States Women’s Olympic Soccer Team will compete in all three of their Group A matches during the Olympic qualifying soccer comes to Frisco’s Toyota Stadium Wednesday Feb. 10 through Monday Feb. 15. The CONCACAF tournament will determine which two teams advance to the semifinals Friday, Feb. 19 at Houston’s BBVA Compass Stadium. The Final will be played in Houston on Sunday, Feb. 21.

FRISCO, TX JANUARY 4: Dana Bowman retired Sgt. 1st Class a double amputee and former U.S. Army Golden Knight / North Dakota University State Bison and the Towson University Tigers compete in the Division 1 Football Championship at Toyota Stadium in Frisco on January 4, 2014 in Frisco, TX. NDSU won 35-7. Photo: Rick Yeatts Photography / Matt Garnett

CONCACEF, or The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football, is the continental governing body for association football (soccer) in North America, South America and the Caribbean.

The USA opens the Frisco portion of the tournament against Costa Rica on Feb. 10 (7:30 p.m. CT), faces Mexico on Saturday, Feb. 13 (3 p.m. CT) and finishes group play against Puerto Rico on Monday, Feb. 15 (7:30 p.m. CT).

LONDON, ENGLAND - AUGUST 09: The United States women's soccer team celebrates with the the gold medal after defeating Japan by a score of 2-1 to win the Women's Football gold medal match on Day 13 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at Wembley Stadium on August 9, 2012 in London, England. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

The round-robin stage of the tournament will be conducted with three doubleheaders in each group. While Group A plays at Toyota Stadium, Group B teams (Canada, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana) will play in Houston on Feb. 11, 14 and 16.

Tickets are available for individual matches or as a tournament pass at Toyota Stadium by logging on at or by calling (888) 323-4685.

The semifinal matches will be on Feb. 19 in Houston, with the winner qualifying for the 2016 Olympics in Brazil.


Four teams have already qualified for the 12-team Olympic Football Tournament: Brazil and Colombia from South America, and France and Germany from Europe by virtue of their finish at the 2015 Women’s World Cup. Two teams will qualify from CONCACAF, Africa and Asia and one more will qualify from Europe after a mini-tournament in March featuring Sweden, Netherlands, Norway and Switzerland. New Zealand is the likely qualifier from Oceania.

Day & Date Matchup Kickoff
Wed., Feb. 10 Puerto Rico vs. Mexico 5 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 10 USA vs. Costa Rica 7: 30
Saturday Feb 13 Costa Rica vs. Puerto Rico 12:30 p.m.
Saturday Feb. 13 USA vs. Mexico 3 p.m.
Monday Feb. 15 Mexico vs. Costa Rica 5 p.m.
Monday Feb. 15 USA vs. Puerto Rico 7:30 p.m.


Don’t miss your opportunity to watch the USA Women’s Olympic Soccer Team perform at Toyota Stadium.  For more information about living in Frisco near the iFLY Dallas wind tunnel, please feel free to drop me a note at, or call me at (214) 597-2985. For home information in Frisco, Texas visit Blog by Top Luxury Realtor Judi Wright with Ebby Halliday – The Judi Wright Team.

More from Judi Wright

Music In The Square Every Friday Night in June Features Free Admission & Entertaining Local Bands

The resourceful city of Frisco, Texas provides our residents and visitors with...
Read More

Leave a Reply